Author Topic: Norton NSU  (Read 11253 times)

Offline arnott

• Advanced Member
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
Norton NSU
« on: November 25, 2007, 05:17:18 AM »
hi guys,

i am completely new in the motorcycle world. Till now i was busy with classic racers and rare special builds, all based on the legendary NSU from Germany, see my website www.nsutt-scirocco.nl
Today i bought a motorcycle, a norton, year 1964, with an NSU 4 cylinder from a car build in.
To get more info on the frame etc, i would be very helpfull if you could tell me what type of norton was used, what front fork(is this the right english word??), which brake drums etc
here are some pics

thanks for a lot of feedback guys
best
arno from holland

Offline L.A.B.

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
Re: Norton NSU
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2007, 05:57:21 AM »
That is certainly an interesting motorcycle!

The Norton frame is the type known as a 'Featherbed' and probably belonged to a 'Dominator' twin (500cc/600cc/650cc)  or 'ES2' (500cc single cylinder) or 'Model 50' (350cc single cylinder) originally?

Are there any vertical (serial number) and horizontal (model *code* ) numbers and letters stamped on the left side gusset plate above the swinging arm pivot?

Those numbers can be used to identify the model and year.

The frame has had extra tubes welded on for passenger footrests.

The rear wheel I think is Triumph or BSA fitted the wrong way (sprocket and brake on right side?)

The gearbox is Norton, but it is turned around backwards, as the gear selector side is normally on the right side.

The front brake and forks are Italian, (does the small sticker on the left fork slider say = Ceriani?).  
L.A.B.

Offline RichP

• Advanced Member
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2007, 06:14:04 AM »