Author Topic: Hello I am new and looking for a little advice.  (Read 3870 times)

Offline Zilog

• View Profile
Hello I am new and looking for a little advice.
« on: February 01, 2010, 07:10:02 PM »
Hello,

I am new to classic / vintage bikes and just need a little help. My farther was a big bike nut and I always loved the photos of his many old bikes. I told my self I would get one my self one day but never did get round to it. That is until out of the blue the other day my best friend I have knowen almost all my life turned up at the weekend on a old 1958 bike ( sorry I forget the make and model ) with a old Villers 200cc 2 stroke engine. He had this mad idea of riding across Europe in the summer on classic bikes. I thought he was mad but said ok. Now I don't have a clue about such old bikes. So I am looking for advice on what would be a good bike to start looking at. I don't know if this makes any differences but I am a full time mechanic and my friend is a amateur car restorer so we both have a bit of mechanical knowledge to keep them running on out trip.

Many Thanks

Offline Revband

• Advanced Member
    • AOL Instant Messenger - Revband
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - Revband
    • View Profile
Re: Hello I am new and looking for a little advice.
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2010, 09:24:28 PM »
Probably every person who answers this post will have a different idea.

My choice would be a BSA B31 or B33 they are bomb proof, the early swinging arm model with magneto ignition.

A full mechanical strip and check over before setting off would be in order, should take all of two/three days :), Check the magneto coil has been rewound, if not get it done or it will most likely let you down.

Good luck enjoy.

Cheers
Revband

Offline 33d6

• Advanced Member
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2010, 10:01:46 PM »
Congratulate your friend on a marvellous idea.