Author Topic: any ideas?  (Read 4483 times)

Offline M.Ramos

• View Profile
    • Email
any ideas?
« on: March 16, 2010, 02:51:30 AM »
Hey everyone, im new here and wanted to send my greetings, Im also new at the whole bike restoration thing and my first project is a 1969 triumh tiger. Its been in a shed for close to 20 years so I decided to bring it back to life. I completely overhauled the carb and have been able to kick start it with carb cleaner but it doesnt last that long. I filled the lines and started it up again but it sucks the gas in really quickly and kills the motor. Does anyone have any suggestions on what i should do next. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Offline bikerisme

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
Re: any ideas?
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2010, 03:34:04 PM »
HI, I TRUST YOU CHANGED THE OILS FIRST AFTER STANDING ALL THAT TIME
BEFORE YOU FIRE IT UP, I THINK I WOULD CONNECT UP TO FRESH PETROL
THEN SEE WHAT HAPPENS THEN GO FROM THERE IF YOU HAVE CLEANED
THE CARBS OUT IT SHOULD RUN THEN YOU CAN FINE TUNE IT

Offline M.Ramos

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2010, 05:03:13 PM »
yea i went and changed the oil, added a boyer ignition, and re wired the whole bike. I went to a local shop the other day and they had mentioned I might want to check the valves to see if they're spaced right. So I think that'll be my next step.

Offline Rex

• Advanced Member
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2010, 06:26:22 PM »
With respect, you've now made the job that much harder, as you've introduced more variables by rewiring and fitting a Boyer.
The other lister likely had it right when he suggested the carbs needing a clean, as it's probably the idle circuit is blocked giving the symptoms you describe. It's a common problem on these carbs which have been standing and can take some clearing due to the size and position of the jet.
"Loose valves"? :D You need to change your bike shop.....

Offline M.Ramos