oil, carb.. and start up..

oil
0 (0%)
carb
1 (100%)
kick start
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 1

Author Topic: new owner of a 1975 Yamaha XT500. few questions..  (Read 7996 times)

atom

new owner of a 1975 Yamaha XT500. few questions..
« on: June 17, 2010, 05:31:01 AM »
I just bought a 1975 yamaha xt500 and have a few questions. the manual I downloaded suggests 20w40 for motor oil. a parts guy at the local store said that there may be a better option. he rebuilds old British bikes and said that because of the availability of oil in '75 versus today, there may be something that runs better. any suggestions?
I am very new to this bike and I am having problems starting it. I did have it running once. and it sounded good. no sputters or dark smoke. but since then I have not been able to get it running. I know they are tricky until you really get the method down. I thought that maybe I had flooded it. the spark plug is good, well it sparks, and there is nothing in the gas line blocking the flow. I have tried a few different suggestions for kick starting it. I am going through it currently. so far I am up to the carb. I will take it out and clean it. maybe the float is stuck, I was thinking. any thoughts for a new and avid owner?
thanks for any input,
Adam

Offline Teflon-Mike

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: new owner of a 1975 Yamaha XT500. few questions..
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2010, 02:13:54 AM »
Been a VERY long time since I started one of these!
They demanded a certain 'knack' as I recall.. get it wrong and it COULD prove painful.... as I ALSO recall!
From cold:
clean plug, good spark,
Choke full on.
1/4 turn of throttle
turn over on the decompressor lever until the white mark appears in the sight-glass on the cam-cover, or until you feel the compression pick up.
Then 'Man-Up'!
Big breath
decompressor out
kick lever to 'just' the top of the stroke