Author Topic: Hard kicking Cub  (Read 8527 times)

Offline fasteddie

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
Hard kicking Cub
« on: December 11, 2011, 09:47:51 PM »
I am new to vintage bike resto. but have run into a problem with my 66 Cub.  It is nearly impossible to start by kicking with the lever.  Even bump starting is difficult as the rear tire lock up when the clutch is released.  Once turning over it starts right up and runs well.  I have removed the top end and am going to replace the high comp piston with a stock 7-1.  Before I reassemble I believe somting else must be wrong as the Hi comp piston cannot cause the bike to kick over with that much required force.  I have owned many bikes but never run into this problem before esp on a small single.  Any help or ideas?  Thanks

Offline R

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
Re: Hard kicking Cub
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2011, 12:13:00 AM »
If the back tyre locks up when you bump start it, are you coming down on the seat just as you let the clutch out - they don't call it 'bump' starting for nothing.
Also, are you using 1st gear or a higher gear - 2nd or 3rd is usually required.
Pull the clutch in as soon as the engine fires.

If you take the spark plug out, does the engine turn over easily for lots of revs when you operate the kickstart ?

Sounds like your ignition may not be up to snuff - try reducing the spark plug gap to 2/3 of what it should be, and see if that makes any difference. Don't leave it like that, whether it does or not, it just tells if your ignition is weak.

Engines that start easily feel easy to kick over.
You just need to sort out why...
Is your spark timing and cam timing absolutely correct,  ?

Hopethishelps.
« Last Edit: December 12, 2011, 12:15:35 AM by R »

Offline fasteddie

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2011, 03:21:30 AM »