Author Topic: Hoping for help to identify my grandfathers motorcycles  (Read 4555 times)

Offline Brick2

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
    • Email
Hoping for help to identify my grandfathers motorcycles
« on: September 21, 2017, 01:41:05 PM »
Hello

I have been passed a couple of photos recently, not the best quality unfortunately, one whilst in the RAF(1941) and one we believe to be earlier. I never met my grandfather and being keen on motorcycles myself would be over the moon if the makes/models could be identified.

The first is a picture of my grandfather as a despatch rider in Hull take in March 1941. Motorcycle registration PMT212.

I am by no means an expert. From what I can tell;
- Hand gear change
- Visible Cylinder sloping forward
- Girder front suspension
- Exhaust has the wider silencer and 'fishtail' at the end

The second picture we do not know when taken but understand it is before the war.

The registration UJ8184. UJ is a Salop designation registered between June 1932 and 1937.

Looks to be a similar motorcycle but with a cylinderical exhaust. The writing on the rear is interesting but we cannot make it out

Appear to start with 'R' then two letters? Then 'J' and 5/6 more letters? R__J_____?

Any help much appreciated.

Thanks very much,

Ben

Offline cardan

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
    • earlymotor.com
    • Email
Re: Hoping for help to identify my grandfathers motorcycles
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2017, 02:16:12 PM »

Hi Ben,

Two interesting lightweights from the 1930s. The top bike is Panther, and the lower is New Imperial. I suppose both are 250s or there-abouts. No doubt thumbing through photos on the interweb will deliver an exact indentification. The New Imperials from this period were interesting in that the engine/gearbox was unit construction.

Cheers

Leon

Offline L.A.B.

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
L.A.B.

Offline mini-me

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
    • Email