Author Topic: Swallow Sidecar Company / identify sidecar  (Read 3535 times)

Offline dafl

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
Swallow Sidecar Company / identify sidecar
« on: April 23, 2020, 08:47:51 AM »
Dear all,

I'm looking for someone to help me indentifying our sidecar. We've got a 1937 Sunbeam Lion 500 with a sidecar from 1925.

I was researching this sidecar and wasn't able to find any information or an expert where we live. However I found this forum - it's my first time posting here.

When I was looking for pictures of sidecars of this period I only found the Swallow Sidecar Company which produced similar ones. I believe that the previous owner did some changes after the complete restoration.

Can anybody help me to indentify who produced this sidecar? I wasn't able to find any stamps or anything other than a stamped number on the frame.

I've attached some pictures during the restoration and current ones.

Thank you in advance!

Best,
Daniel

Offline Mark M

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
Re: Swallow Sidecar Company / identify sidecar
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2020, 09:07:56 AM »
Sorry if you've already done the research and eliminated it but the 'before' pics look like a Noxal S11 from 1929 as shown on the Noxal brochure of that year. There is a pic of the chassis as well in the brochure
REgards, Mark

Offline cardan

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
    • earlymotor.com
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2020, 10:35:24 AM »
Looks great on the Sunbeam.

It could be Noxal, but that chassis looks pretty large for the sports body. I wonder if they started life together. If so, it might be a bit earlier than 1929?

Cheers

Leon

Offline dafl

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2020, 04:56:31 PM »
Dear both,