Author Topic: New to this old bike lark  (Read 23890 times)

Offline Tiger Bob

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
    • Email
New to this old bike lark
« on: September 29, 2014, 12:46:25 PM »
I'm new to old bikes but not Triumph as I worked there as a prototype buyer for many years. I've had an old bike itch that needed scratching for ages and after selling one of my bikes I've bought a 1959 Tiger 100 - which I absolutely love! I have a couple of questions I'd like opinions on please:

1. Should it piss oil everywhere? I know the saying "if there's no oil under them then there's no oil in them" but after I park it up there's quite a lot of oil on the floor. No pints worth but a reasonably sized little puddle.

2. What should the ammeter read with the lights on? Coming back from Donington the other night the lights seemed OK but since if I put them on the ignition seems to struggle. It's the 6 volt system.

Any comments gratefully received.

Thanks,

Bob.

Offline rogerwilko

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: New to this old bike lark
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2014, 11:14:17 PM »
You now have a 30 year learning curve.

Offline mark2

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2014, 11:14:46 PM »
most leak oil , wjth the engine running and a full charged battery the ammeter should zero as the dynamo/alt will balance the load , not running it will show a discharge , if its running with lights on and battery is charged and still shows a discharge you may have a fault ,

Offline pdcracing

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2014, 12:43:42 PM »