Author Topic: Albion gearbox identification  (Read 12418 times)

Offline gizzy

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
Albion gearbox identification
« on: August 04, 2017, 03:50:56 PM »
Hello! Newbie here. Can anyone on here tell me what model this Albion gearbox is? Or any other information you would care to share. Thank you, hope everyone has a good day!

Offline chaterlea25

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
Re: Albion gearbox identification
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2017, 10:37:06 PM »
Hi and Welcome  ;D

There should be some letter/number stamping on the kickstart side that will tell the model
It looks like the lightweight type from the pics
If you reduce the photo size it will be easier to see them on the forum

John

Offline gizzy

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2017, 12:44:52 AM »
Thanks John. It has 20M stamped on the kicker cover. Sorry about the size of pics, I haven't learned how to reduce them yet. I'm not very computer literate. LOL  Any other info would be appreciated. I know next to nothing about it. Mainly wondering if it is a 2 speed, 3 speed or maybe a 2 or 3 speed with reverse? Or maybe what it was used on? Thanks again.

Offline 33d6

• Advanced Member
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2017, 04:44:26 AM »
Albion made that style of gearbox from the 1920's until British industry went belly up in the 60's. Initially in motorcycles they ended up in all sorts of industrial and light agricultural machinery. Albion made a gazillion variants of it all with basically the same 3-speed internals. They come in top mount, bottom mount and pivot mounting variants each with alternative chain lines (The distance from the centre line of the box to the final drive sprocket and similar for the clutch sprocket.) The kick start shaft comes in various lengths also and the actual kickstart comes with various offsets. Then we get on to the clutch which comes in several configurations as well.