Author Topic: First Project Bike  (Read 12321 times)

Offline PT6

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
First Project Bike
« on: July 12, 2005, 06:17:21 AM »
Hi,
   I am looking for a bike to restore,
   I have a low budget so parts must be cheap,
   Also i would prefer a small engine like a 125.

Thankyou for any advice you can offer.

Offline L.A.B.

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
Re: First Project Bike
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2005, 06:27:23 AM »
PT6,
Are you asking if anyone has a bike for sale? Or do you need advice on what type of bike to buy (or both)?

Knowing where you live on the planet would help?
L.A.B.

Offline PT6

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2005, 06:33:35 AM »
Hi,
   I live in the North East of England and I am asking for
   advice on what bike to buy.  As this is my first project
   I am looking for something that will be easy to restore
   on a budget.

Any suggestions are welcome.

Offline L.A.B.

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2005, 06:54:13 AM »
Restoring a motorcycle-any motorcycle can cost a fair amount of money, you could end up spending more than the bike will be worth when it is finished.
Parts for a small bike can cost as much or nearly as much to buy as parts for larger bikes and there will be no difference in the cost of paintwork and rechroming than larger bikes that will have a higher value when restored.
If you are doing this because you want to restore a bike rather than just get something on the road to use then it is better to do the restoration in stages as you save up the money.
It also depends how much work you intend to do yourself and what result you will be happy with when you are finished?
If you want a British bike then possibly a BSA Bantam would do?
L.A.B.

Offline PT6

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2005, 07:00:25 AM »