Author Topic: Monet Goyon Identification  (Read 22409 times)

Offline mowbar

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
Monet Goyon Identification
« on: September 26, 2018, 07:39:31 AM »
Hi all, I am very new to the vintage motorcycle scene and i have just acquired a monet goyon and I am trying to find out exactly what it is
it is fitted with a Villiers mark 7A which from my research is a 247cc engine and only made between 1924/1925, so does this date the bike? I have tried contacting the monet goyon owners club but I got no response. Can anyone shed any light on this for me, any advice or help would be greatly appreciated.

Offline mowbar

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile

Offline mowbar

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile

Offline mini-me

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Monet Goyon Identification
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2018, 08:46:32 AM »
More late 1940s early 50s than 1924.
If you were sold it as that date you were done.
Don't expect any french bike club to respond unless you join/write in french.
I expect all the big French bike clubs are well cheesed off with enquiries from  English owners. For reasons look out threads on here and the problems of buying these things in a country to which they were never imported, nor provided for in English.

Plus the French hate us.

Offline Rex

• Advanced Member
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2018, 12:15:39 PM »
I'd say just pre or post-war although the starburst finning on the head looks to be (or makes it look) earlier. I was on the M-G forum some years back and there were a couple of helpful members there, although in the main even when I tried Google Translate most weren't impressed. The most helpful bloke was a German funnily enough, but there's a lot of good info there.

Offline mini-me

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2018, 01:26:48 PM »